//
you're reading...
branding, creativity, publicity stunt, viral marketing, Word of mouth

2 Remarkable Things I Spotted in London This Week

Having read Seth Godin’s Purple Cow and agreeing that for a product/service to get noticed, it has to be truly remarkable, I thought I would mention a couple of things I saw this week in London:

1). I was walking in Soho and thought I knew the area pretty well. That was until I saw arguably the most remarkable shop front in London and possibly England. It was the premises for John Wilkes, the gunmaker. Now if I had seen a window full of rifles, that would not have got my attention. What did in fact make me not only look but instantly want to take a photograph, was the fact that large strands of hair seemed to be growing from a 1st floor window and leading down into the top of the door to the shop. On closer inspection, the interior was full of these strands of hair (think of something out of Willy Wonka’s chocolate factory mixed with a giant spider’s web). Now I have looked on the web and asked a few people about the hair but cannot find the answer. If anyone knows, please let me know in the comments section below. Here’s the photo:

2). Normally when you see delivery vans drive past, there is nothing to comment on. The product will be printed onto the side of the van and act as a mobile billboard. Vitamin Water have been pushing hard recently in the UK to make a dent in a very competitive market. When I saw their van drive past me, I instantly wanted to take a photo of it for their clever use of space. It would have been very easy for them to drive an empty van back to the warehouse but in doing this, it not only looks as if their stock has gone (subliminally we think they are so popular, people have bought every bottle) but crucially the brand is still prominent but inside the van. It also hinted that the company was transparent and had nothing to hide by revealing what was inside. On a related note, this idea reminded me of the Innocent Smoothie vans that appeared to be covered in grass.


Would love to see photos of remarkable things you have seen recently?

Bookmark and Share

About David Lowe

Founder / editor at Origin of Cool (www.originofcool.com) and World Sport Bloopers (http://www.worldsportbloopers.com). Talk to me about building online communities, social media, online advertising and cool stuff. Love ping pong!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers

Follow me on twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Sneezy Photos

