//
you're reading...
free thinking

Forever Young (and why it is so cool being a 9-year old)

Myself and my wife went to a picnic last weekend at Alexandra Park in north London. I was introduced to my wife’s friends and we effortlessly slipped into the usual British summer routine of eating, drinking and enjoying the sun. I quickly became a little tired of hearing how people hated their jobs yet did nothing to remedy the situation and when one of their kids (Ethan) asked me to have a kick around with his football, I jumped at the chance. He was 9 and instantly bombarded me with questions such as:

– What football team do you support?
– Where do you live?
– What’s your favourite food?
– What’s your favourite computer game?

This was quite refreshing and it made me think how as we get older, we build walls around ourselves. Some people use defence mechanisms like comedy or pretensiousness to mask an unstable personality. When you are young, you just say it like it is and then worry about the consequences.

Another thing I noticed was how when you are a kid, you try lots of things and don’t fear failure. In the space of an hour, I watched Ethan show off his football skills, practice his yo-yo tricks and demonstrate how to use a diabolo. Myself and my wife tried the yo-yo and when we had worked out how to ‘rock the baby’, ‘walk the dog’ and go ’round the world’ the sense of satisfaction was evident on both our faces. We walked away from the picnic feeling a sense of accomplishment.

When was the last time you acted like a child and loved every minute of it?

Bookmark and Share

About David Lowe

Founder / editor at Origin of Cool (www.originofcool.com) and World Sport Bloopers (http://www.worldsportbloopers.com). Talk to me about building online communities, social media, online advertising and cool stuff. Love ping pong!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Follow me on twitter

Sneezy Photos

