//
you're reading...
art/design, branding, creativity, innovation, viral marketing, Word of mouth

Was this the best marketing campaign at SXSW?

I like marketing messages that are simple, to the point and clever. Whilst attending my first SXSW in Austin, Texas from 11th-15th March, I believe I found all three:

 

Why did this campaign work?
1). Everyone loves Star Wars. Everyone!
2). Solvate are a company that connects freelancers with employers. Sounds a little ordinary right?. Combine it with arguably the coolest character in movie history and you are onto a winner.
3). They had a limited edition on their stand which went fast. They told me to go back the next day as they getting more delivered. Upon returning, the t-shirt I got was not the same but still cool. The point was, I went back to the stand along with hundreds, maybe thousands of others.
RESULT = a memorable, cool campaign that in my mind gave them the edge over all the other stands.

Did anyone else see any other remarkable marketing ideas that were well executed?
What kind of media were these companies using?

About David Lowe

Founder / editor at Origin of Cool (www.originofcool.com) and World Sport Bloopers (http://www.worldsportbloopers.com). Talk to me about building online communities, social media, online advertising and cool stuff. Love ping pong!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Follow me on twitter

Sneezy Photos

